Close this search box.

About Us


  • Ensures alignment and prioritisation in national climate research with a focus on system transitions;
  • Manages a network (the KIN Pact), which ensures connection with practice partners and policy makers and identifies and prioritises knowledge gaps;
  • Sets up new knowledge programmes to close knowledge gaps..

The KIN Center

  • Is a small agency that organizes KIN activities.
  • Has strategic climate knowledge and an overview of climate research with a focus on systemic transitions
  • Plays an active role in strengthening national cohesion and cooperation.
  • Is a governing body under the NWO umbrella.


Our ambition is to accelerate the transition to a climate-neutral and climate-resilient world through optimal use of scientific knowledge and development of new knowledge. We aim to slow down climate change as quickly as possible, to help society make the necessary adjustments, and to contribute to a just, globally sustainable society.


connects, broadens, deepens and unlocks knowledge for transitions to a climate-neutral and climate-resilient society.

On the connect, broaden, deepen and unlock elements of our mission, we again set a number of goals.

KNAW and NWO set up a climate research task force consisting of 23 scientists from different backgrounds. This temporary advisory body issued a report that underpinned the creation of the KIN.


Taskforce Advisory Report

Involved in the Establishment

Many organisations and individuals participated in the establishment of the KIN.

NWO and KNAW, as initiators, made the elaboration phase possible with financial resources for the initial activities, deployment of staff and strategic support. ZonMW also contributed to the support activities of the KIN.

Furthermore, various expert groups with people from knowledge institutions, government agencies and civil society organisations have collaborated, co-written and thought along in the various working groups.

With the support of...

  • Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
  • Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)
  • Universities of the Netherlands (UNL)
  • Association of Universities of Applied Sciences (VH)
  • Dutch Federation of University Medical Centres (NFU)
  • Deltares
  • Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research (TNO)
  • Wageningen University & Research
  • Netherlands Aerospace Centre (NLR)
  • National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM)
  • Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS)
  • Scientific Research and Documentation Centre (WODC)
  • Naturalis Biodiversity Center
  • National Cultural Heritage Agency (RCE)
  • Netherlands Institute for Public Safety (NIPV)
  • Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI)
  • Social and Cultural Planning Office (SCP)

Other Participants

  • Bart van Arem
  • Karen Arnon
  • Martijn Bart
  • Monique Berendsen
  • Rosa van den Berg
  • Robbert Biesbroek
  • Egid van Bree
  • Hans Brug
  • Heleen de Coninck
  • Marjolein Demmers
  • Marileen Dogterom
  • Han Dolman
  • Sanli Faez
  • Belinda van der Gaag
  • Sanne Geelhoed
  • Hans van Goudoever
  • Vincent de Gooyert
  • Liesbeth van der Grift
  • Marjolijn Haasnoot
  • Antoine Heideveld
  • Madeleen Helmer
  • Anneke Hiemstra
  • Thea Hilhorst 
  • Daniëlle Hirsch
  • Stephanie Holst
  • Michiel van den Hout
  • Patrick Huntjens
  • Maud Huynen
  • Caroline Katsman
  • Rachel Kelders
  • Maheen Khan
  • Rubert Konijn
  • Marcel Levi
  • Kristel Lammers
  • Derk Loorbach
  • Fulco Ludwig
  • Freek van der Meer
  • Leo Meyer
  • Arthur Mol
  • Aniek Moonen
  • Eddy Moors
  • Annemieke Nijhof
  • Uyoyo Onemu
  • Geerte Paradies
  • Ika van de Pas
  • Yara ten Pas
  • Frank Pierik
  • Andrea Ramirez
  • Joost van der Ree
  • Reint Jan Renes
  • Jasper Roodenburg
  • Lizanne Schepers 
  • Sible Schöne
  • Marja Spierenburg
  • Maaike Spuij
  • Arian Steenbruggen
  • Gerard van der Steenhoven 
  • Linda Steg 
  • Josef Stuefer
  • Diana Suhardiman
  • Ted Veldkamp
  • Kees Vendrik
  • Peter Paul Verbeek
  • Jelte Verberne 
  • Wouter Verduyn
  • Martien Versteegh
  • Arian Visser
  • Detlef van Vuuren
  • Ellen Weerman
  • Bregje van Wesenbeeck 
  • Birka Wicke
  • Josephine van Zeben